A hard role to fill

The purple belt instructor at my weekend school has been one of my very favorite training partners since I started there. From the beginning he has made it a point to roll multiple rounds with me and he even invites me to come in before class for extra rolling. He might secretly be my favorite person there.

A couple of months ago, it became clear to me that he was pushing me toward a roll I didn’t think I would ever fill. He wants me to be an enforcer. This first came up in a conversation I mentioned in this post where he said that a few guys at the gym needed to be taken down a notch and he thought I was just the person to do it.

I understand the reasoning behind wanting me to be the person to catch these guys. What better way to take a guy down a notch than to have a girl tap him? In a way I feel like I should be insulted by this. It shouldn’t be insulting to be tapped out by a girl! But I really do get where he is coming from. He is not looking to humiliate these guy but to show them that BJJ is not about being strong and going hard. The beauty of BJJ is that if it is applied correctly the smaller/weaker opponent can win. It’s the basis of the whole system. Valerie Worthington shared a story about an experience she had with a new guy while training once and also just recently blogged about it here. In her words, it’s the art!

There is one guy in particular that my coach has been pushing me to get. I think it is important to note here that neither of us dislikes this guy. I actually like him a lot. He is a good guy. He just likes to go fast and hard. As my coach put it, he likes to ragdoll everyone. He is having success doing this against newer people who don’t know how to handle it and I get the feeling that my coach thinks this may be going to his head. This is where I am supposed to come in.

I have not had a ton of experience rolling with this guy. I do remember that the first time we rolled, after I got over the initial onslaught (I really should just prepare for everyone to go nuts after we bump fists so it stops surprising me), I realized that in doing everything hard and fast, he was also being very sloppy and leaving a ton of space. It was really one of my first “aha” moments when I started to realize that there are ways to deal with someone who is going really hard. I have had some bad rolls with him since when I was in my defensive, “please don’t hurt me” phase.

As I said though, I don’t see him that often in class as I am only there on the weekends. My coach will periodically give me updates on him as a subtle reminder of what he wants me to do. Yesterday at the end of basics class I saw him come in which meant he was there to roll. I felt a sense of calm come over me. I didn’t even need to look at my coach, I knew what he wanted and I knew what my duty was and I was going to do my best to fulfill it.

I didn’t ask him to roll right away, I knew he’d come to me eventually, he always does. About half an hour in he asked me if I wanted to roll. We bumped fists and I was determined to get him. Not only did I want to come through for my coach but I wanted to vindicate my previous terrible rolls with him. The whole round I was getting better position on him. I scooted around his muscely guard pass attempt, I caught his sloppy triangle setup and used it to pass to side mount, I used an ill-advised bridge to get into mount, I got his back after he charged at me and even got a body triangle on him, I felt like I was doing everything right. However I could not get the tap.

At the end of the round he tried to lock up a kimura when I was trying to pass. I defended it well and wrapped my arm inside and grabbed my own belt. I also rolled to that side a bit so he didn’t have leverage to finish it. I could tell he was going to use all his strength to muscle my arm out though. As I frantically thought of ways to defend the arm, I could feel him pulling on it with all his might. He got it out and cranked it back and I had to tap. The round ended almost immediately after that. I had failed to complete my task.

It is somewhat discouraging to lose that way. I can’t blame him for muscling. I obviously didn’t protect that arm well to begin with and let’s face it, most of us would do the same. If you have the ability to out-muscle someone, why not use it? The bitter part of me needs to point out that he would not have gotten that submission on most of the other guys there rolling as he would not have been able to pry their arms out. But oh well, I got submitted.

So I lost the battle. But I have not lost the war. I had him on the run the whole time and it was only a list minute Hail Mary that had gotten him the submission. I was proud of my effort and I look forward to the next skirmish with this guy. Victory is so close I can taste it.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

The Gentle Artist

We ARE Jiu-Jitsu.

viperbjj.wordpress.com/

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground

Meerkatsu's Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Jiu Jitsu Transformation

Beginner Jiu Jitsu 101 and BJJ Quotes

This week in BJJ and MMA

Your weekly Combat Sports newswire.

Stethoscopes and Armbars

Just a girl out to prove that true strength comes from within.

Uphill

Musings on life, learning, social work, and judo. Mostly judo.

Georgette's Jiu Jitsu World

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

Jiu Jitsu Adventure

A blog where I talk about my adventures with this meaning of life called Jiu-Jitsu

BJJ Contemplations

A blog about Jiu-Jitsu, the universe, and everything

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Jiu Jitsu Evolution

A Blog all about Jiu Jitsu, and how I have evolved whilst studying it.

Jay Gaulard

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

isang taong-nayon

Random ramblings of extreme importance , Bjj and Muay Thai

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Grumpy German

bunnies : magick : metalz

MyMindOnCarolina

Northern gal, heading South

SavageKitsune's Training Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

TAP TAP TAP

Kissing Dragons

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

#jiujitsudiaries

Doing, not saying. Being, not wishing.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie in France - life updates and musings about brazilian jiu jitsu

No Guts, No Glory?

A Gutless Woman Practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The Domain of A. T. Greenblatt

Curiosity Sometimes Pays Off

The Exploits of a Lazy Grappler.

Shite writer, extraordinaire.

The Challenge 2013

I will not be governed by fear, exhaustion, or pain. I will not bury my head in the sand or turn away from an opportunity. I am grateful for what I have, but I will continue to reach for it is striving that defines me.

Fail Jitsu

The gentleman's gentle art of lying on the ground and rolling with the other gents.

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Crucial Waste of Time

This is the most important blog you will ever read. Intense philosophical thoughts on frivolous and peripheral topics

RocknRoll Brazilian Jiu Jitsu & Fitness - RNR BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness and Music Blog! Cutting edge technique, jiu jitsu based drills and fitness programs, and rock n roll!

Learning to ride the waves

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

