I hate my job

I do. I hate my job. And there’s no reason to hate my job. It’s a good job as far as jobs go. I get paid a good salary to do exactly what I went to school for (I design and develop software). They are very laid back, they have even let me work flex hours to do training in the morning before. It’s a fine and dandy job.

I have hated aspects of my job before. I have had projects I hated, I have had clients I hated, I have had commutes I hated but I have never hated the essence of what I do. I am a computer geek and I have always been somewhat proud of that.

So why do I hate my job now? The answer is simple (and somewhat cheesy and over romanticized, I apologize). I have found my passion. I am obsessed and consumed with BJJ in a way I have never been with anything else in my life and I am growing increasingly frustrated and angry that I have to spend the majority of my day doing something that is not my passion.

As I have mentioned before, I train a lot. It is rare that I do not do at least 6 classes a week and I also try to mix in some cardio and strength on occasion. This is very time consuming. I often tell people that I feel like I have two full-time jobs.

It is not only time consuming but it’s exhausting. I think that if I had a few days off I could easily sleep the entire time. So why am I doing this to myself? Because I don’t want to spend less time training and I can’t spend less time working (they are very strict about that 40 hours a week thing).

I would probably have a happier life if I could be a more casual trainer. One of those people that come in 2-3 times a week and are happy and fulfilled with that. If I were able to see BJJ as a hobby and not a lifestyle, I could be happy working in my good job and heading off to the gym a few times a week after. I am past the point of no return on this though.

As previously stated, I am a computer geek. I used to have all the latest and coolest gadgets. A nice TV, the best cable you could buy, a new phone every year. Now I’d happily throw them all away, sell my condo, quit my job, move to Brazil and train for the rest of my life. This is what love of jiu-jitsu will do to a person.

Sadly do to a failing economy and a strong sense of practicality this is not an option for me (yet). So I find myself at a crossroads of sorts. Do I try to find ways to make my dream of training more a reality or do I listen to that strong sense of practicality and realize that I am 33 years old and it might be too late for me to follow dreams and just be happy working my good job and training less?

Screw practicality 🙂 I have been thinking a lot about ways I can save money and live a happier existence. I have plans in the works, now I just need to find the time, energy and guts to implement them. But hey, if I can let large, scary men choke me I can do this right?

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “I hate my job”

  1. fishinchina says :

    Hating your job is one of the worst things to deal with. I hope it gets better for you. 😦 I’m in a lucky stage of my life where my husband works and I freelance online and do some tutoring in English. (We live abroad.) So I have a good bit of free time. Unfortunate thing is, BJJ is only available to me four times a week, else I’d be there every day. Anyways, don’t give up on your passion! You can totally do it, while letting large, scary men choke you. 😛

    • camamyd says :

      Thanks! It’s not so bad, it’s a decent job. I just hate anything that takes my focus from BJJ. Plus I am training for a tournament so I am overly tired and cranky right now 🙂

  2. slideyfoot says :

    I know how you feel. Although I certainly don’t overtrain (I’ve been pretty much on a two to three times a week schedules the whole seven years I’ve been training), I think about BJJ all the time, write for BJJ magazines, obsess over detail on my blog and teach. So I would love to be able to write and teach full time one day.

    I’m hoping I still have time, at 32: just a matter of laying the groundwork and setting things in motion, which I’m trying to do (i.e., building up teaching experience, getting in writing assignments where I can). Main thing though is having at least that one thing you can look forward to and enjoy, while also balancing it with other interests.

    Also, even if you don’t manage to do an extended Brazil trip, shorter training trips are really cool too. I’ve been over to the US twice now for training and meeting up with awesome online people, each time for a little over two weeks (although the most recent trip in June was with my girlfriend, so understandably less training focused, as that would be unfair on her). I’m heading over again next year, starting off with Virginia. 😉

    • Your Doom says :

      Yeah getting to visit other gyms while traveling is super fun. I am hoping to do a road trip in the fall winter down the east coast (I live outside of Philadelphia) to visit friends and family and stop at some cool BJJ places.

Leave a Reply

The Gentle Artist

We ARE Jiu-Jitsu.

viperbjj.wordpress.com/

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground

Meerkatsu's Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Jiu Jitsu Transformation

Beginner Jiu Jitsu 101 and BJJ Quotes

This week in BJJ and MMA

Your weekly Combat Sports newswire.

Stethoscopes and Armbars

Just a girl out to prove that true strength comes from within.

Uphill

Musings on life, learning, social work, and judo. Mostly judo.

Georgette's Jiu Jitsu World

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

Jiu Jitsu Adventure

A blog where I talk about my adventures with this meaning of life called Jiu-Jitsu

BJJ Contemplations

A blog about Jiu-Jitsu, the universe, and everything

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Jiu Jitsu Evolution

A Blog all about Jiu Jitsu, and how I have evolved whilst studying it.

Jay Gaulard

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

isang taong-nayon

Random ramblings of extreme importance , Bjj and Muay Thai

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Grumpy German

bunnies : magick : metalz

MyMindOnCarolina

Northern gal, heading South

SavageKitsune's Training Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

TAP TAP TAP

Kissing Dragons

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

#jiujitsudiaries

Doing, not saying. Being, not wishing.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie in France - life updates and musings about brazilian jiu jitsu

No Guts, No Glory?

A Gutless Woman Practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The Domain of A. T. Greenblatt

Curiosity Sometimes Pays Off

The Exploits of a Lazy Grappler.

Shite writer, extraordinaire.

The Challenge 2013

I will not be governed by fear, exhaustion, or pain. I will not bury my head in the sand or turn away from an opportunity. I am grateful for what I have, but I will continue to reach for it is striving that defines me.

Fail Jitsu

The gentleman's gentle art of lying on the ground and rolling with the other gents.

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Crucial Waste of Time

This is the most important blog you will ever read. Intense philosophical thoughts on frivolous and peripheral topics

RocknRoll Brazilian Jiu Jitsu & Fitness - RNR BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness and Music Blog! Cutting edge technique, jiu jitsu based drills and fitness programs, and rock n roll!

Learning to ride the waves

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

