Always look on the bright side of life

Sorry again for the long delay in posts. I had a nasty cold come on Sunday and then had to go to a technology conference for work Tuesday and Wednesday which meant I was not training for a couple of days and not in front of a computer thus I had little to write about and no opportunity to do so.

Further impeding my ability to blog was an assignment given to me by my coach. I had a somewhat difficult weekend of tournament training (I go to other schools on Friday and Sunday for tournament training which means we go very hard) and was not feeling so great about my jits by the end of Sunday. During one of my matches the stripe on my belt (I am a one stripe blue belt) came off on the mat and I made a joke about how it had abandoned my belt in shame after my poor performance.

As I said I was not feeling great about my BJJ after Sunday’s training but this is not something that is unusual for me so I continued with business as usual and went about my day afterward. While hanging at my parent’s later in the day (as you recall it was Easter), I got a text from my coach. He told me that he really liked how I have been pushing myself and he saw some big improvements but he did not want to hear me say anything negative about my skills before the NY Open on the 20th.

At first I thought he was overreacting, I just made one little joke! But then I really thought about it and realized that he was right (as he usually is). I thought about the little things I was doing and saying all day that showed that I did not think I had any game. Not only was this obviously apparent to everyone around me–my coach was able to pick up on it despite pretty limited direct interaction–but it most likely affected my training as well.

I have myself noticed lately (and even blogged about it!) that when rolling if I think positively it really helps my game. Lately when I start to feel down about my game or doubt starts to creep in I think about the quote from Henry Ford “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t–you’re right” (I have seen various versions of t this quote and am not sure which is correct but you get the idea).

So I thanked my coach and told him I was only joking but I did feel very flat that day (probably because a monster cold was invading my body) but I had made myself push through and was happy I had done at least that. He then told me that he was very serious about me not saying anything negative before the tournament and that I would see a big change if I followed his advice.

So I am doing what my coach says and it is very hard. A huge part of BJJ is mental. I think everyone at some point in time has thought that they are the most untalented person to step foot on a mat and they should just give up because clearly BJJ was not meant for them. Moving past this self-doubt is probably a huge part of advancing.

So although I know that there are things I need to work on, I’m only going to focus on the positive for the next couple of weeks and hopefully go into the open ready to take on the world. In the interest of being positive I am going to make a list of things I think I am good at in BJJ.  They are, in no particular order:

  • Shoulder pressure – I have the nastiest shoulder in my gym, it is just the right size and shape to choke people.
  • Chokes – my choke game is tight.
  • Half-guard passes – I always manage to get into half-guard and thus have much practice with this.
  • Holding guard – Being smaller and weaker than everyone means I have had a lot of opportunity to work my guard and it is super hard for even the boys to break it.
  • I am tough – You have to be when you are a girl who trains with  men 95% of the time.
  • Back escapes – I very rarely get choked out from the back.
  • Turtle – I can flatten myself into the shape of a rock if needed.

Wow that was a longer list than I envisioned it being when I started it. So see? I am good at more than I would typically give myself credit for. I am going to focus on this list and try to get myself into these positions where I feel I can dominate.

And now because I referenced it in the title and because it’s Friday and because you cannot hear this song and not smile, here you go…enjoy!

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Always look on the bright side of life”

  1. Bryan says :

    The blog posts just keep getting better!

Leave a Reply

The Gentle Artist

We ARE Jiu-Jitsu.

viperbjj.wordpress.com/

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground

Meerkatsu's Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Jiu Jitsu Transformation

Beginner Jiu Jitsu 101 and BJJ Quotes

This week in BJJ and MMA

Your weekly Combat Sports newswire.

Stethoscopes and Armbars

Just a girl out to prove that true strength comes from within.

Uphill

Musings on life, learning, social work, and judo. Mostly judo.

Georgette's Jiu Jitsu World

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

Jiu Jitsu Adventure

A blog where I talk about my adventures with this meaning of life called Jiu-Jitsu

BJJ Contemplations

A blog about Jiu-Jitsu, the universe, and everything

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Jiu Jitsu Evolution

A Blog all about Jiu Jitsu, and how I have evolved whilst studying it.

Jay Gaulard

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

isang taong-nayon

Random ramblings of extreme importance , Bjj and Muay Thai

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Grumpy German

bunnies : magick : metalz

MyMindOnCarolina

Northern gal, heading South

SavageKitsune's Training Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

TAP TAP TAP

Kissing Dragons

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

#jiujitsudiaries

Doing, not saying. Being, not wishing.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie in France - life updates and musings about brazilian jiu jitsu

No Guts, No Glory?

A Gutless Woman Practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The Domain of A. T. Greenblatt

Curiosity Sometimes Pays Off

The Exploits of a Lazy Grappler.

Shite writer, extraordinaire.

The Challenge 2013

I will not be governed by fear, exhaustion, or pain. I will not bury my head in the sand or turn away from an opportunity. I am grateful for what I have, but I will continue to reach for it is striving that defines me.

Fail Jitsu

The gentleman's gentle art of lying on the ground and rolling with the other gents.

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Crucial Waste of Time

This is the most important blog you will ever read. Intense philosophical thoughts on frivolous and peripheral topics

RocknRoll Brazilian Jiu Jitsu & Fitness - RNR BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness and Music Blog! Cutting edge technique, jiu jitsu based drills and fitness programs, and rock n roll!

Learning to ride the waves

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

