A moment of insanity and a moment of enlightenment

That was my Saturday. It was a big day for our gym as we hosted our first in-house tournament (the Hellfish International In-House BJJ Tournament) where we invited other schools from Team Balance to come fight us. Considering it was the first time that we tried to run a tournament, I think it went very well.  We were done at a reasonable time, everyone got at least 2 matches,  there were some really awesome medals and even a black belt superfight, all for $30!

who wouldn't want to win this?

who wouldn’t want to win this?

Since I have barely been able to start drilling again and only rolled a few times in the last couple of weeks, I decided it wouldn’t be wise of me to actually fight in the tournament but I told my instructor I’d come and help out since I was going to come watch anyway.

I arrived early and helped with organizing everyone into brackets as we were getting their registration forms. After seeing so many people I know sign up and watching them get ready to compete, I definitely got the bug and I decided that I wanted to do it. I told my coach that I was going to register and he gave me a disapproving look and told me he didn’t think it was a good idea. I whined like a 2-year old and said “but I really want to and I want one of the medals…” and he told me to relax and just enjoy the tournament as there would be others. Sigh. Fine.

I know he was right because I would be quite upset right now if something had happened to my knee and I had to sit out again but it was really hard to not participate. It’s funny how when I can compete the thought makes me nauseous and anxious and when I can’t compete it’s all I want to do. I am so difficult!

Instead of competing, I got to keep score at one of the tables (we had two matches going on at once) for most of the tournament which was actually quite stressful in its own way. I kept worrying I would mess up the score and end up costing someone the win. It is also really hard not to pay attention to the other mat when one of your teammates is competing or when you hear a lot of cheering.

I also had the experience of watching one of my students compete for the first time. It feels weird to say “my” student as she is the gym’s student but she got her start in the women’s class and only trained with me for the first few months of her jiu-jitsu career so I feel very responsible for her.

Being that this was a small in-house tournament and that she is the tiniest of tiny (she weighed in at 108 with all her clothes and her sweatshirt on), her only opponent had a 25-30 pound weight advantage on her. Despite this and the despite the fact that she woke up feeling sick, she still went out there and fought her heart out for two solid fights (they fought a best of 3 series). She didn’t get the W but I was really proud of her for working up the nerve to compete and giving it all she had.

Experiencing the tournament as a coach instead of competitor gave me a whole new perspective on competition. Whenever I lose in a competition, I feel like I let my coach down. Even though he has told me numerous times he doesn’t care about winning and losing, I can’t help but feel he is disappointed when I don’t win.

I can honestly say I felt so proud of her for stepping out there that I would not have cared even if she got submitted right after bumping fists. I am hoping this new perspective on competing will help me lighten the mental baggage I like to take with me every time I compete. But enough about me. Way to go Carrie, you rocked the mat on Saturday 🙂

Leave a Reply

The Gentle Artist

We ARE Jiu-Jitsu.

viperbjj.wordpress.com/

With your feet on the air and your head on the ground

Meerkatsu's Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Jiu Jitsu Transformation

Beginner Jiu Jitsu 101 and BJJ Quotes

This week in BJJ and MMA

Your weekly Combat Sports newswire.

Stethoscopes and Armbars

Just a girl out to prove that true strength comes from within.

Uphill

Musings on life, learning, social work, and judo. Mostly judo.

Georgette's Jiu Jitsu World

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

Jiu Jitsu Adventure

A blog where I talk about my adventures with this meaning of life called Jiu-Jitsu

BJJ Contemplations

A blog about Jiu-Jitsu, the universe, and everything

Eli's BJJ Blog

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Blog and more...

Jiu Jitsu Evolution

A Blog all about Jiu Jitsu, and how I have evolved whilst studying it.

Jay Gaulard

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

isang taong-nayon

Random ramblings of extreme importance , Bjj and Muay Thai

Jiu-Jiu's BJJ Blog

A language teacher's take on jiu jitsu

BJJ For Women

News, Events, Ideas and All Things Fenom

slideyfoot.com | bjj resources

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

The Grumpy German

bunnies : magick : metalz

MyMindOnCarolina

Northern gal, heading South

SavageKitsune's Training Blog

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

TAP TAP TAP

Kissing Dragons

A Skirt on the Mat

One Gal's take on Brazilian Jiu Jitsu and everything in it

#jiujitsudiaries

Doing, not saying. Being, not wishing.

gypsy girl in gi

Aussie in France - life updates and musings about brazilian jiu jitsu

No Guts, No Glory?

A Gutless Woman Practicing Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

The Domain of A. T. Greenblatt

Curiosity Sometimes Pays Off

The Exploits of a Lazy Grappler.

Shite writer, extraordinaire.

The Challenge 2013

I will not be governed by fear, exhaustion, or pain. I will not bury my head in the sand or turn away from an opportunity. I am grateful for what I have, but I will continue to reach for it is striving that defines me.

Fail Jitsu

The gentleman's gentle art of lying on the ground and rolling with the other gents.

OLD MUNKI

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Diet, Fitness, Health and Wellbeing

Mountains to Mats

The Modern Art of Muay Ski-Jitsu...

Jon Jitsu

Blatherings of a Jiu Jitsu Addict

A Crucial Waste of Time

This is the most important blog you will ever read. Intense philosophical thoughts on frivolous and peripheral topics

RocknRoll Brazilian Jiu Jitsu & Fitness - RNR BJJ

Brazilian Jiu Jitsu, Fitness and Music Blog! Cutting edge technique, jiu jitsu based drills and fitness programs, and rock n roll!

Learning to ride the waves

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

BJJ Grrl

"Be gentle, kind and beautiful, yet firm and strong, both mentally and physically." ~Sensei Keiko Fukuda

Crawl Atop Me and Meet Your Doom

One woman's Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu journey

